11 Replies Latest reply: Nov 14, 2011 10:18 PM by fistaids RSS

Page object

fistaids

Hi all,

I've just started messing with InDesign scripting, and being a web developer I've obviously chosen to go with Javascript as my scripting language.  I had been reading through the available literature and thought I had pretty much figured out the DOM, and writing the script I was after.

The idea is, I've got 4 columns when the data flows top to bottom, left to right.  The function I wrote was supposed to add a textFrame to a page after first calculating how many frames are already on this page.  If it already contains 4 textFrames then it creates a new page, then puts the textFrame on that page.

The issue I'm facing is that it works fine for page 1, and page 2... but when it adds a page to a spread (in this case, page 3), the page object returned (even when access the last page of the document independently app.activeDocument.pages[-1]), it is return the page 2 object... so putting the textFrame on this page.

Below is my code.

function addTextFrame()
      {
          var page = app.activeDocument.pages[-1];

var thisPageFrames = page.textFrames.length;
          var columns = 4;

if ( thisPageFrames == columns) {
              page = app.activeDocument.pages.add();
              thisPageFrames = 0;
          }
          var thisFrame = thisPageFrames + 1;

var leftMargin = page.marginPreferences.left;
          var rightMargin = page.marginPreferences.right;
          var topMargin = page.marginPreferences.top;
          var bottomMargin = page.marginPreferences.bottom;

var pageHeight = app.activeDocument.documentPreferences.pageHeight;
          var pageWidth = app.activeDocument.documentPreferences.pageWidth;

var frameHeight = pageHeight - topMargin - bottomMargin;
          var frameWidth = (pageWidth - leftMargin - rightMargin) / columns;

var frameRight = (thisFrame * frameWidth) + leftMargin;
          var frameBottom = frameHeight + topMargin;