7 Replies Latest reply: Dec 1, 2011 10:59 AM by Zac Lam RSS

compiling SDK on windows

morishuz

i am new to Adobe SDK development but not to C++. nothing is ever easy but getting the adobe examples to complie is bordering on the impossible. i need some help.

SDK CS5.5 example project opens in visual studio 2008 pro (on win7, 64bit) but won't compile or build. no matter which example project i try the output window just shows "Build: 0 succeeded or up-to-date, 0 failed, 1 skipped". when i choose to see the project properties i get a dialogue saying "the operation could not be completed". any ideas?

• 1. Re: compiling SDK on windows
          shachar carmi MVP

hi morishuz_!

welcome to the forum.

:-)

most problems of such sort usually have to do with the path the SDK is located at.

it should be located at something like c:/program files/after effects 5.5 sdk.

i don't remember exactly. (i jumped through hoops to locate it somewhere else)

older versions of the SDK had an installer that put them in the right path.

here are a few threads that dealt with such issues:

http://forums.adobe.com/message/3794467#3794467

http://forums.adobe.com/message/3322601#3322601

http://forums.adobe.com/message/3851554#3851554

• 2. Re: compiling SDK on windows
            morishuz Community Member

thanks for the info!

unfortunately unless i have the exact path it's not really worthy trying to move the folder. although i somehow doubt this is the cause of my problem. i don't get any error messages - unlike the issues highlighted in the previous threads you posted, which mostly seem to be about x64 bit issues with 2008 express (i am using 2008 pro).

what i am trying to understand: