Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Java Applet Files in RH8 Output

New Here ,
Dec 05, 2011 Dec 05, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello to everyone!

My name is Livia, I am from Romania, and I work as a Technical Writer for a company that makes billing software for telecommunications providers. One of my tasks consists in creating WebHelp files for our web-based applications, and I have recently encountered a problem for which I need some expert advice.

While investigating a recent bug (the help isn't working properly on the web application it's for), I have discovered that there are some Java-related files missing from my help output: webhelp.cab, webhelp.jar and whskin_papplet.htm. These files exist in older projects created with RH5. I now use RH8. The Adobe help page for RH 8 (At http://help.adobe.com/en_US/RoboHelp/8.0/RoboHTML/WS5b3ccc516d4fbf351e63e3d11aff59c2a0-7fb6.html) lists these files as normally present in the output, and yet, in one of the discussion threads on this forum (http://forums.adobe.com/thread/24865), someone says "webhelp.jar is not being used in the output so you can safely remove it if required. It has been fixed in RH8 and doesn't come in the output."

What is the correct version? Should these files appear in the help output or not?

Thank you,

Livia Miron

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Dec 05, 2011 Dec 05, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Welcome to our community

The files should not be present. They are not needed. They are (or were) related to the way the navigation pane works.

In RoboHelp 7 and earlier, there was the following option in the WebHelp generation dialogs:

tmp1.PNG

As you can see, RoboHelp 8 does not offer this option:

tmp2.png

Hope this helps... Rick

Helpful and Handy Links

RoboHelp Wish Form/Bug Reporting Form