15 Replies Latest reply: Jan 19, 2012 6:46 AM by Lars Renklint RSS

Unpause animation if key value equals X

tldr: I need an expression that plays a sequence of images on a layer (and leave it on the last image) when the value of a key (keyframe?) in another layer of the same comp equals a specific value.

I am fairly new to AE and trying to port a project I made exclusively using Processing. Wrapping my head around how Expressions work is proving difficult, and I learn best by example, and am even finding it hard to piece together how to do this from what I've found online.

The situation and what I need:

I have imported key frames from a midi file (using this script) into a layer called "midi" and a layer that is an animation of frames . The idea is that if midi's effect ch_0_pitch has a value of, in this case, 36, that the frames in layer "ds_bass" animate when they come across one of these keys.

This is basically a "bass drum" animating on a "bass note" pitch. The midi file contains references to the entirety of drum midi needs (ie hi hat, snare, bass), each having a different pitch value. While I could simply render each individual "pitch" midi sequence to a midi file and import it as keys and then use a time remap expression to unpause and pause the animation on markers, which has worked, I need the capability to specify pitches for other instruments and run specific animations based on what pitch is being hit. As well, going through and adding a marker for each midi note is tedius and inaccurate (as there are very small differences visually between two keys with different values played synchronously, ie a bass hit and a hi hat hit).

I found something online that accomplished this at first, with markers, placed in TimeRemap of the ds_bass layer. I would go note by note in the midi and add markers to the ds_bass layer for this to work, and it perfectly paused and ran the animation when I needed it:

try {
            m = thisLayer.marker.nearestKey(time);