6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 9, 2006 9:11 PM by nicetim

FDS HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!

nicetim
      Hi all,
      i am new to Flex and very new to FDS.
      I have been playing with the Contact and Dashboard samples.
      We have some CF Flash Forms that have data grids.
      I want to turn those into Flex apps that use FDS to display the data in the grids.

There are several other CFC's and other apps that modify the underlying database and i want those updates pushed out to the subscribers of the data. How can i accomlish this?

From what i have seen so far the only way the contact sample can push the updated data, is by updating the data through FDS. is this correct?

TIA

Tim
        • 1. Re: FDS suggestion
          knallore_adobe Level 1
          >>There are several other CFC's and other apps that modify the underlying database and i want those updates pushed out to the subscribers of the data. How can i accomlish this?

You should be able to use the CF adapter to reuse those CFCs.

>>From what i have seen so far the only way the contact sample can push the updated data, is by updating the data through FDS. is this correct?

correct

HTH
          Kumaran
          • 2. Re: FDS suggestion
            nicetim Level 1
            Hi and thank you for the reply.
            Can you give me some detail on using the "CF Adapter to reuse those CFC's" ?

Is there a function i can call after my other CFC's modify the data?
            like: <cfquery...> update table...</cfquery> somefunction.update()??

Or is there some sort of data watcher event gateway that can watch for database changes and push out / sync with the FDS subscribers?

thanks again
            tim
            • 3. Re: FDS suggestion
              knallore_adobe Level 1
              Here are some articles that might help you:
              http://www.adobe.com/devnet/flex/flex_cf.html
              • 4. Re: FDS suggestion
                nicetim Level 1