• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Downloading library ebooks via ADE to a Nook

Jan 17, 2012 Jan 17, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I'm a librarian and will soon be teaching patrons how to download eBooks from the library to ADE then transfer to their Nook.  I felt I had a pretty decent grasp of how to do all this, but then I was reading the forums and now am not so sure!  I wish it was easier and we could better help our patrons!

I have a few questions that I would love to get clarification on before the classes begin- no need for the blind to lead the blind so to speak.

1.  Regarding authorizing ADE on computer w/ AdobeID and the Nook registration ID.  Can these be different ID's or should they be the same?  I am going to assume that the patrons coming to my class will already have registered their Nook with B&N.  When they learn that they must download ADE software to their computer and "authorize" it with an Adobe ID, should they use the same ID they registered their Nook with?  Does it matter? 

2.  These are the basic steps I will take the patrons through - I'm curious about the order and if it seems a good way to go.

1.      Go to our libraries Overdrive website
  2.      Click on the link to download ADE
  3.      Download ADE and authorize with AdobeID
  4.      Go back to libraries Overdrive catalog to login, search for a book, checkout and download
  5.      Launch ADE (will open automatically, yes?)
  6.      Connect Nook to computer
  7.      Authorize Nook with same AdobeID
  8.      Nook appears in bookshelf via Library View
  9.      Drag and Drop book to Nook
  10.      Wait till finished
  11.      Disconnect Nook
  12.      READ (hopefully)!

Experts, please advise if we should do #6 before #5 - I've noticed problems in the forums where ADE doesn't recognize the Nook.

Should patrons get an AdobeID first thing, before starting step #1?

Thank you so very much!

Josie

Views

Translate

Translate