16 Replies Latest reply: Apr 4, 2012 5:17 PM by Fraser Crozier RSS

DPS subscriptions: Background Downloads working?

Johannes Eckert Community Member

Last week I subscribed to The New Yorker to test iTunes subscriptions, Adobe DPS and Newsstand.

The newest issue "January 9, 2012" appears in my newsstand, but without the red badge on the newsstand icon, no notification at all and not downladed.

when I tap the new cover in the newsstand rack, the New Yorker App just starts and displays the old issue I was reading before.

Is this the supposed behaviour?

I thought the newest issue will be downladed in the background (background downloads are activated in settings)

—Johannes

• 1. Re: DPS subscriptions: Background Downloads working?

ehem, anyone? Klasjaan? Bob(s)?

• 2. Re: DPS subscriptions: Background Downloads working?
            johnm64 Community Member

I have a subscription to the New Yorker, also. Newstand behavior is inconsistent -- sometimes it indicates a new edition is available, sometimes, not. Sometimes the latest edition has been downloaded in the background, most often not. Downloading can be painful -- zips along to the very end then hangs. I need to delete what I have, then start over.

I usually archive an edition after I've read it. I often get notifications that an updated version is available -- what does that mean????

That said, the iPad version of the New Yorker is really great. My printed copy rarely gets opened.

• 3. Re: DPS subscriptions: Background Downloads working?
              ktukker1 Adobe Employee

Hi Johannes,

Was you device connected to WIFI when you expected the background download? Background download does not occur on 3G connections

With kind regards,

Klaasjan Tukker

Adobe Systems

• 4. Re: DPS subscriptions: Background Downloads working?
                mobly Community Member