17 Replies Latest reply: Feb 2, 2012 6:39 PM by Neil Weinberg RSS

Import multiple Word docs to multiple pages with same master page?

Neil Weinberg Community Member

Hi, I should start by saying I have no scripting experience.  However, I am wondering if there is a simple script available for the following issue:

I have set up a master page with three linked text boxes. Right now, I use Cmd+D to select a word file, and then Shift+click in the first box to place the text on the page. But I have 125 pages that are exactly the same layout, just different Word files to be imported. I could repeat this process 125 times, but I am wondering if there is a way to tell InDesign to create 125 pages using Master Page X and import one file for each?

I am using InDesign CS5 v 7.0.4 on Mac OSX Snow Leopard v 10.6.7

Thank in advance for any help you can offer,

NW

• 1. Re: Import multiple Word docs to multiple pages with same master page?
          John Hawkinson Community Member

Well, it's not too tough. Let's assume you've created the pages with master page X via the regular UI, since that's easy enough.

Then for each page, you must override the master page item and then place the document within it. Untested of course:

var
              d=app.activeDocument,
              p=d.pages,
              i, frame;

for (i=0; i<p.length; i++) {
              frame = p[i].appliedMaster.textFrames[0].override(p[i]);
              frame.place(new File("/path/to/page"+p[i].name+".doc"));
          }

Which should place page1.doc in the first textframe on the master applied to page 1, page2.doc on page 2, etc.

It's a shame you can't just use Data Merge for this. Oh well.

• 2. Re: Import multiple Word docs to multiple pages with same master page?

Thank you! This seems a little beyond me right now, but I will try to figure it out.  Data Merge was exactly what I was thinking of, but as you say, it didn't work.