13 Replies Latest reply: Feb 19, 2012 10:21 AM by Jan Janowski RSS

Size of OS disc - Does anything speak against a 1TB OS-Disc opposed to a 500GB one?

Andy 2012

Dear All

Thanks to your answers here I think I was able to improve my build for cs5 editing. I chose a better PSU and a (hopefully) better case:

CPU  i7 2600k

Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V Pro

GPU Onboard, later nvidia 550 or 560

RAM 16 GB, made of 4 times DDR3 4GB/1600 CL9 Kingston KHX

HARD DRIVE (see question below)

OS Windows Premium 64 bit

Cooler Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus

PSU Corsair TX750W M Modular 80+ Bronce

Case cooler-master-cm690-ii-advanced (yes, I know it could be bigger...;-)

I know they are not the "optimum" but I think they will perform "fine", won´t you think?

(As a side note, being a complete novice to all this, I am still asking myself how is it that brands like Asus and HP sell PC´s with i7 2600 processors

in my local shopping center with small cases and no extra fans/fan openings at all, and probably really low-level PSUs - I mean, will these explode after a few weeks, or won´t they just work fine for a few years if one doesn´t overclock

and of course accepts all disadvantages that come with such a "package" opposed to a on-purpose-built PC? These have warranties, too after all. In doubt, I´ll go with the above configuration, but the thought that I could a "cheesy" i7 from the mall,

still be able to do "okay" video editing, and buy almost a Samsung Note or a budget camcorder for the difference, that thought is kind of depressing.)

Now my question regarding the OS drive: General wisdom over here has it than one should choose a "fast, smaller disc" for the OS.

Okay, so I decided NOT to use an SSD at the moment and NOT to go for some extra-speedy and more expensive expensive small drive.

I "just" wanted to use an "inexpensive" Seagate 500GB drive with 7200 rpm and 16 mb of cache.