8 Replies Latest reply: Feb 26, 2012 8:59 PM by Strobelight77 RSS

Motion Tracker losing track

I'm new to AE and just running some simple tests with the motion tracker.  I'm running into all kinds of trouble on something I think shouldn't be that big of a deal.

Here is an example - I've tried single and multiple black dots on a well-lit hand.  Regarless of tracker settings, number of tracking points, or size of the tracker it ALWAYS loses the track quite significantly (see image below).

tracker test.jpg

What am I doing wrong?

Much appreciated!

• 1. Re: Motion Tracker losing track
          Dave LaRonde Community Member

AE's Online Help has good instructions and good advice to follow when motion tracking.  Since you're new, it wouldn't help much to write this stuff out in AE Lexicon, because you wouldn't understand it!  There's a lot to the process, so you might as well have pictures to go along with words.

Here's an overview of the process.

Here's the workflow to follow.

Here's how to correct a motion track. Problems like yours above happen all the time.

The overview especially has some very helpful links.  And take the time to read this stuff carefully, okay?  It's easy to get lost when you're new. Read them in the order they appear.

And since you're new, this is also extremely helpful:

• 2. Re: Motion Tracker losing track
            Strobelight77 Community Member

Hi Dave,

Thanks, but I've been through that information.  Perhaps I'm simply expecting too much of AE.  While I'm relatively new to AE I've used a wide range of software packages for quite some time on a variety of platforms.  Boujou can whip this off without any problem for example.  I would have thought that a black dot (or several) on skintone would not be a problem for AE, so this drift (more like massive jump) is surprising.  I guess I'll have to adjust my expectations.

• 3. Re: Motion Tracker losing track
              Rick Gerard MVP