• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

PDF Output: Why is "PDF Review" styled different than "Generate PDF"?

Mar 15, 2012 Mar 15, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to RH.  I have imported a folder of HTML files (used in an Eclipse Help plugin) into RH9 for HTML as a project. My goal is to produce a PDF document.

When I generate a PDF from Printed Documentation in the Single Source Layouts pad, many styles are incorrect. I've tried generating to Word and from there to PDF with the same effect.

However, when I use Create PDF for Review from Project Manager the styles shown in the PDF (fonts, alignment, etc) are nearly perfect! Is the PDF Review option using a different CSS?

I have tried exploring the CSS specified in the Generate PDF flow, but I am unable to make changes, perhaps due to my massive state of confusion.  So I'm losing hope that I could manually tweak to CSS that I think I use in the Generate PDF flow to appear like the "PDF Review" flow. I specified the same CSS used in the Eclipse Help system, but evidently there must be some defaults built into the Eclipse viewer that are not specified in the CSS we use.

Thanks in advance,

Charly in SJ

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Mar 16, 2012 Mar 16, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Look at the dialogs when you generate. You will see options to apply a Word template or a different CSS to the one(s) you use in your topics. That could result in what you are seeing.

See www.grainge.org for RoboHelp and Authoring tips

@petergrainge

Help others by clicking Correct Answer if the question is answered. Found the answer elsewhere? Share it here. "Upvote" is for useful posts.

Votes

Translate