• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Two Separate Autonumber Formats in One Document...One Referencing the Other Format?

New Here ,
Apr 04, 2012 Apr 04, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello All,

I searched and could not find the answer. Since I'm fairly new at working with Framemaker, maybe I'm searching in the wrong area.

I'm writing a document that has multiple sections of instructional steps along with multiple images in each section.

Here's how I have the steps numbered in each section (module):

M:<n>.<n=1>   OUTPUT EXAMPLE= 1.1

M:<n>.<n+>     OUTPUT EXAMPLE= 1.2

M:<n>.<n+>     OUTPUT EXAMPLE= 1.3

I want to autonumber the images in the sections by referncing the section number (module number) "1", but follow the number with a letter. i.e. 1.A, 1.B, 1.C.

I tired this:

M:<n>.<A=1>

M:<n>.<A+>

Unfortunately, once I add the number format to the image...the numbers of the steps in the section start counting up by the amount of images.

I want to reference the step numbers because there are some steps that are all text and do not have images, which would force me to manually override the sections without images. If I'm going to manually override these sections, it defeats the purpose of formatting to help my day go smoothly.

Can a format be written to fix my numbering issue?  Or am I stuck manually changing the numbers on each image?

Thanks,

Tony~

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Explorer , Apr 05, 2012 Apr 05, 2012