• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Text cut off on printed page

New Here ,
Apr 19, 2012 Apr 19, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am currently using RoboHelp 8 to create Help topics. The topics generate as I expect on-line, but if an end user decides to print a topic, there is a problem with text in text boxes. Any text written outside a text box or table seems to wrap to the size of the 81/2 x 11" paper output. However, anything in a text box is cur off on the right side. Is there something about the size of the text box that is doing this? Something else? (I'm not technically sophisticated or proficient in HTML, so there may be a simple answer to what has been a very frustrating problem.)

(Further information: The text boxes are usually 6.5 inches, but there are also text-boxes in drop-down text that may be larger. Will that "stretch" the original text box?)

Thanks for any assistance.

TOPICS
Classic

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Apr 20, 2012 Apr 20, 2012

To be honest I wouldn't use anything in expanding text other than text or an image. They are really not designed for much else. Also the Text Popup functionality is not that widely used anymore. It still exists but has been largely replaced by the DHTML expanding and drop down text functionality. Unless there is a good reason not to use them, I'd use these instead.

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If the help displays OK, the chances are the issue is related to the printer driver. Does this only happen on one printer? Check this out on a printer available to you. If it works, get the users to update their printer drivers. Another way around this issue could be to include a PDF of the help (or individual topics).

Votes

Translate