1 2 Previous Next 52 Replies Latest reply on Apr 23, 2012 2:56 PM by Lundberg02

Dumb newbie color question.

Richard_M_1999

I have Photoshop CS4 64-bit running under Windows 7.  I recently bought a Canon Pro9000 MkII printer, and I got a pack of Canon Fine Art Museum Etching paper.  I followed the printing instructions described here to produce my first prints.  The Canon print driver includes an option to "preview" the image prior to committing it to (expensive) paper.  On the "preview" image, the color balance is waaay different to what I see on my Dell 22" (cheap) flat-screen monitor when editing the image in Photoshop.  The color balance on the subsequent printed image is closer to what I see on the preview image than when editing the image in Photoshop.  How do I address this?  I am a TOTAL dumb newbie, and I need somebody to answer this in words of one syllable....

Thanks in advance!...

• 1. Re: Dumb newbie color question.
          Curt Y Level 7

Your screen may not be calibrated so what you see is not what you get.

You can buy a screen calibration device.  At the minimium look on the web for color checkers and see what you colors look like with these programs.

• 2. Re: Dumb newbie color question.
            Richard_M_1999 Level 1

I thought about that.  But (1) if the screen calibration was the problem, then wouldn't the "print preview" image would look the same as the image in Photoshop?  Also (2) I exported the image to a png file and viewed it on my Mac, and the color balance looked simailar to the Photoshop (on Windows) image, and not at all like the "print preview" image.

Am I making sense?...

• 3. Re: Dumb newbie color question.
              Curt Y Level 7

Have you used the preview on printer for other printing?  If so how does it compare to preview or to PS?

Do you have the box checked to allow PS to set color or printer to set color?