Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Filling out form with pre-determined values

Level 1

I am new to LiveCycle. I want to set up a form where if a person hits a button or check box, it fills in the form with predetermined variables. I want to there to be several different buttons/check boxes which if selected fill out the form with the predetermined values. These values would be different, depending on the check box/button selected.  Is this possible?

Just to help understand a little more, I am designing a medical prescription form.

If the practitioner selects 'Option A' I want it to automatically fill out the required fields in the rest of the form with the predetermined values (set by me).

Similarily if the practitioner selected 'Option B', it fills out the form with another set of predetermined values.

Hope this makes sense.

Thanks

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Former Community Member

After looking at your form, I understand what you were going for.  You want several fields prepopulate values when you select either Option A, Option B... and so on.  Here is the script I use for the different fields, I would also suggest adding the same script to the initialized event so you can save the state of the form after it has been changed.

From a Drop Down - JavaScript Change event 

if(xfa.event.newText == 'Option A'){
optionText.rawValue = "This is option A";
optionText2.rawValue = "This is option A value";
optionText3.rawValue = "This is option A";
optionText4.rawValue = "This is option A";
optionCheckbox.rawValue="0";      //0= unselected  1=selected
optionRadio.rawValue = "Option A";
}

if(xfa.event.newText == 'Option B'){
optionText.rawValue = "This is option B";
optionText2.rawValue = "This is option B value";
optionText3.rawValue = "This is option B text";
optionText4.rawValue = "This is option B";
optionCheckbox.rawValue="1";
optionRadio.rawValue = "Option B";
}