Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

Add 180 days to a new date field

Level 1

I have a form where we want users to enter/select a date in a date/time field and have another date automatically calculate 180 days past the date entered - an end date.  I am new to FormCalc and I was wondering if anyone had a simple code to solve this?

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 10

On the Exit event of the date field you can do this:

var beginDate = Date2Num($,"YYYY-MM-DD")

endDateField = Num2Date(beginDate + 180, "YYYY-MM-DD")

Make the endDateField a text field, not a date field - you're specifying the date format in the Num2Date() code (I've got it as "YYYY-MM-DD" but you can do different variations).

You'll want to set up some Display, Edit and Validation patterns on the date field so you get a proper date. The Display pattern is how the date looks on screen, the Edit pattern is for how people can enter the data (you can have more than on Edit pattern to allow some flexibility) and the date has to pass the Validation pattern to be valid. It's a good idea to specify the date format you want in the field caption and in a tooltip so form fillers know how to enter the date properly if they don't use the calendar popup.

View solution in original post

19 Replies

Correct answer by
Level 10

On the Exit event of the date field you can do this:

var beginDate = Date2Num($,"YYYY-MM-DD")

endDateField = Num2Date(beginDate + 180, "YYYY-MM-DD")

Make the endDateField a text field, not a date field - you're specifying the date format in the Num2Date() code (I've got it as "YYYY-MM-DD" but you can do different variations).