12 Replies Latest reply: May 4, 2012 1:05 PM by DTwo22 RSS

Need suggestions as to get 13 lights on an XMAS tree to randomly flash.

DTwo22 Community Member

I have a Christmas tree that has 13 lights (layers).   I can add a glow to them but would like to get them to randomly flash, without having  to change the opacity on and off on each individually.   Is there an effect that can do that?  I am a newbie at this so would prefer something simple if possible.  However, if there is nota simple solution to doing this, I am willing to install some code if given to me.  Will do just about anything to avoid dealing with opacity keyframes for 13 different layers.  I would like to find some kind of random on/off generator that can control a glow that will simulate a small light bulb flashing on and off.   Open to more than one kind approach.

Thanks in advance for your suggestions.

Duane

• 1. Re: Need suggestions as to get 13 lights on an XMAS tree to randomly flash.
          Todd_Kopriva Adobe Employee

Suggestion: Manually keyframe one light, and then copy and paste the keyframes to other layers but offset in time (by just having the current-time indicator in a different place for each paste operation).

Solving simple problems like this is much easier if you have a good grasp of the basics. I recommend starting here to learn After Effects: http://adobe.ly/bjBT3P

• 2. Re: Need suggestions as to get 13 lights on an XMAS tree to randomly flash.
            Mylenium CommunityMVP