• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to place text in columns in InDesign?

New Here ,
May 07, 2012 May 07, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I am creating a two-column brochure in InDesign CS3. I would like to place text in a column. However, when I try to place text in a column, the text does not snap to the edge of the column, and instead is placed in a large text frame that spans the width of the page. How do I make the text go into only one of the columns? Is there a setting that I need to have selected?

I am still new to this program, so any help would be appreciated.

Thank You,

- Mike

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , May 08, 2012 May 08, 2012

Manish_1988 wrote:

as always Bob is right , you have column guides on your page but no frames

Hence create a big text frame equal to your pages size , then Go to "Object-->Text frame options" and enter the no.of cloumns and gutter space as you have defined for the column guides, this will create the text frame with column which will be constraint to the column guides.

Then place the text and check

First, let's be perfectly clear that "place" has a precise meaning in InDesign: Import from an external

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Draw the frame first.

Bob

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

First select the Type Tool , and double click inside the column , when you have insertion point blinking in the column