14 Replies Latest reply: May 15, 2012 11:18 AM by johnnyfriday RSS

Transcoding from 1080p 29.97 to 1080 50i?

johnnyfriday Community Member

Screen Shot 2012-05-13 at 3.26.59 PM.pngMy master project is mixed timeline of RED R3d's, Panni AVCHD and h264 and well as P2 material. I'm making my master as a TIFF, then need to send to Europe a 1080i 50i timeline to them with audio seperated....Can i get some of the tech savy to assist on this? :

Here's what i've done:

1. My sequence is set to: 1920x1080 @ 29.97  (see attached) with max bit depth & max render selected

2. Export media, then set my MASTER as a TIFF sequence at 1080p 29.97 with max set in Export settings dialague box as well--in both places

3. Send to QUEUE using AME for my Encode

4. Once finished (24 hours later)....then import TIFF file to a new Sequence--i am just choosing a Generic Sequence--like DSLR or anything that is 1080p @ 29.97...then i Render the sequence...SO--now i have my MASTER....

How can i get to a 1080i 50i Prouct for my client in the UK?  Stumped here since i see plenty of 1080i 25 and 1080i 60.....

Thanks,

• 1. Re: Transcoding from 1080p 29.97 to 1080 50i?
          Harm Millaard Community Member

Why don't you make your life a lot easier and simpler, since you are using stills (.TIFF) by using a 1080/25i sequence without the Maximum Bit Depth? Or are you using 10 bit TIFF's and a third party card?

• 2. Re: Transcoding from 1080p 29.97 to 1080 50i?
            J. Simon Community Member

Maybe I misunderstand things, but...why are you exporting three times?  TIFFs (or any image format) don't have a 'frame rate".  (And can't be interlaced anyway.)  Just export out once form your sequence as TIFFs.  The folks on the other end can assign whatever frame rate that want for playback in their software.  (Of course, they'll have to adjust the speed of audio playback to keep sync, but this is how Hollywood get's their 24 fps original onto PAL set's anyway, by speeding it up by 4%.)