• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to convert InDesign picas to Pixels for Photoshop?

Community Beginner ,
Jun 01, 2012 Jun 01, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am very new at using InDesign, but here is what I am trying to do. I am making a basic grid layout design in ID, and since it seems to have very limited features in the area of  graphic editing (which is what Photoshop is for) I figured I would make a background for my grid. But since ID uses Picas, Im not sure what dimensions to make a .jpg in Photoshop so that when I pull it into ID, it fits on the size of the grid without needing to be resized. The bounding box seems to cut parts of images off in ID, not good if I want to use the whole imageIf it helps I am using InDesign CS5.5

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Jun 02, 2012 Jun 02, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Which units Id uses can be selected in the preferences or with right mouse click on the rulers. There are not only picas, also mm, cm, inch, points, ag and pixels.

But with Id comes also resolution as pixel per length unit (mostly ppi) as important factor to the size of images.

Pica is a length measurement, pixel not. So it is difficult to compare. Pixels are the smallest part of a picture, picture element. This does nothing say about physical length or size.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advisor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied