6 Replies Latest reply: Jun 3, 2012 2:51 PM by sound space RSS

loopng video

sound space

Hi, I'm new to PE and have a short repetitive video - 15 secs in duration, that I'd like to extend for the length of a song. It will be repeated about 7 times but, being an audio person,  it seems to be looping might be easier than importing it 7 times. Can PE do that as i can't find the function?

thanks for any advice.

• 1. Re: loopng video
          nealeh Community Member

You don't have to import the video seven times.

• Once you have it in your Project Media panel you can drag it to your timeline multiple times
          • You can work with each version separately, applying different in/out points, cut different parts, effects, transitions, key frames etc...
          • In the Media panel List View you can see how many times each clip has been used.
          • You can also work with the video or audio alone - in the screen shot I've used the video twice, and the audio thrice.

Insanity is hereditary, you get it from your children

• 2. Re: loopng video
            sound space Community Member

Thanks Neale, yes, sorry i didnt mean import from outside the program, but rather drag from the project media panel.

• 3. Re: loopng video
              the_wine_snob Community Member

As one can have virtually unlimited Instances of a Clip on the Timeline, I would Trim the Clip (setting the In & Out Points, either in the Source Monitor, or on the Timeline), and just drag it to the Timeline, as many times, as needed.

If the Trim is done in the Timeline, then it would probably be easiest to just Select the Trimmed Clip, and Copy (Ctrl+C, or Cmd+C), then just Paste (Ctrl+V, or Cmd+V), as many times, as needed.

If the Trim is done in the Source Monitor, just click+drag it from there, as many times, as is needed. Unlike many DAW programs, there is no "Looping" command, per se.