• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Exporting from InDesign to Photoshop?

Community Beginner ,
Jun 06, 2012 Jun 06, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am a Graphic Design student and I just got an e-mail from a possible client requesting that I redo a restaurant menu for him. He has requested that I give him Photoshop files that he can edit himself whenever the menu happens to change. A menu, however, really should be done in InDesign - is it possible for me to design it in InDesign but somehow export it to Photoshop so that he will be able to edit it, or will I have to take to designing it in Photoshop?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advisor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It's possible, but because a menu has a good bit of text, it won't look as good when rendered into bitmaps as it would if you kept the text vector. If he wants to make daily changes, such as price changes, the convenience to him may outweigh the lower quality, but if he just wants to make occasional changes, you should talk him into letting you do the changes (for what ever fee you choose to negociate), and provide him a PDF.

You can export the InDesign file to PDF and open it in Photoshop. The first window you will see in Photoshop (the Import PDF window) will allow you to define how the PDF will be rastered, including the color mode, size, resolution, and which page of the PDF will be rastered (if you select more than one page, each will open a a separate Photoshop document). You can then save as a Photoshop file, jpeg, tiff, or what ever format the client wants.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard