• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

When To Merge

New Here ,
Nov 08, 2006 Nov 08, 2006

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

When should one separate a help project into modules and create a merged help project? I am new to RoboHelp HTML. I have a large but not enormous project and I thought it would be a good idea to break it down into smaller modules. But now I see that by doing this I will have less control over the table of contents, linking from one project to another, etc. In any case, can someone please share your expertise and tell me what the benefits are to having a merged help project rather than one larger help file? I must also keep in mind that I will be generating WebHelp from the same source files.
I appreciate any reply --- Thanks!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Nov 08, 2006 Nov 08, 2006
Welcome to the forum.

Three main reasons for creating modules. One is to match different modules of your software so that the help is specific to the installed modules. Two is to split a large unwieldy project into bite size chunks. Three is to enable different people to work on different parts of the help without using source control.

Splitting an existing project in this way is a pretty hairy task for someone new to RH so if you do proceed, make sure you take plenty of backups along the way....

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Welcome to the forum.

Three main reasons for creating modules. One is to match different modules of your software so that the help is specific to the installed modules. Two is to split a large unwieldy project into bite size chunks. Three is to enable different people to work on different parts of the help without using source control.