8 Replies Latest reply: Jul 11, 2012 5:16 PM by birderpp RSS

CF card reader for photo impport does not show on LR3

birderpp

Firsst I'm a newbie to Apple and LR3 and using Scott Kelby's LR3 book to start. Incredible as it may be I'm stuck beyond Step 2 (the very beginning of the book) in trying to import photos, first form a DVD and also from a CF card reader. The error message on my DVD says that there is an initialization error (OK, OK , the DVD with photos was created on another laptop, running on Windows Vista, so it may be a Read Only file). Aside from that, however, my CF card with photos does not even show up on LR3.

I have gone to System Preferences and changed the way I want CDs and DVDs to show. In both cases I changed it to "Open in LR3". Is that wrong?

Here is a Screen shot of LR3 Library when  tryingn to import photos. No (CF card) drive is shown. (Hope it shows)

file://localhost/Users/dennisluz/Desktop/Screen%20Shot%202012-03-19%20at%204.29.50%20PM.pn g
      I'm getting desperate as I have spent many hours trying to figure how LR3 works. I have created "My LR Photos" folder in LR and I was hoping to create additional subfolders under the above to store all my photos.

• 1. Re: CF card reader for photo impport does not show on LR3
          birderpp Community Member

No one can voilunteer and answer?

• 2. Re: CF card reader for photo impport does not show on LR3

It worked this time. Just connected the card reader to LR3 program and all photos opened. Why it didn't open the previous time? Maybe because I had two exterior items connected to the computer (card reader and external hard drive). Maybe not. Anyway I'm happy, for now.

• 3. Re: CF card reader for photo impport does not show on LR3