9 Replies Latest reply: Jul 1, 2012 3:26 AM by SteveG(AudioMasters) RSS

Adding Ambient Noise?

quincunc

I've been using Soundtrack Pro for a little over six years, for a podcast, and am thinking of switching to Audition. One of the actions I perform most often with STP is adding on top of both of my two recorded channels a tiny clip of ambient noise during each transition between myself and my guest. STP makes this easy: I take a several second chunk of "silence" recorded before the interview, save it as "ambient noise" and then use whatever fraction of a second I need for each individual transition. Later I do a noise reduction that includes some of the same noise pattern so what I've added mostly disappears but some remains. (I know, I know, this is incredibly labor intensive and there are probably easier ways to achieve the same thing but I like the way it works in terms of overall noise reduction while maintaining a kind of invisible continuity between speakers.)

Long story short, I don't see an "ambient noise" feature in Audition and am wondering how many steps it would take to do this?

All suggestions most welcome!

Thanks.

• 1. Re: Adding Ambient Noise?
          SuiteSpot Community Member

I would just record some 'ambient noise' and keep it a stock clip that you would re-use and add it in wherever you wanted in the multitrack view

• 2. Re: Adding Ambient Noise?
            Bob Howes Community Member

Yeah, that's what I tend to do when I need atmos on an edit--just make a track (loop it if necessary) then faded it in and out as necessary in multitrack.

• 3. Re: Adding Ambient Noise?
              _durin_ Employee Hosts

Use side chaining to do that automatically now.

d.

• 4. Re: Adding Ambient Noise?
                SuiteSpot Community Member

_durin_ wrote:

Use side chaining to do that automatically now.

d.
                Handy to know - but you better have left the office and be sending that from somewhere deep in the redwoods