Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Linked Word doc with headings and the TOC

Jun 29, 2012 Jun 29, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm relatively new to RoboHelp, so bear with me.

I'm linking in a Word document that is being maintained by others. The document uses Heading 1 styles for auto-numbered chapters, thus:

1 Some topic

lorem ipsum, etc

2 Some other topic

lorem ipsum, etc

To get the 2 chapters into my TOC I create a book from the page and configure my SSL to use that TOC. So far, so good - the TOC appears as I desire. WIthin the document, however (I'm generating PDF) I get both the book name and the heading that is embedded in the text, thus:

1 Some topic

1 Some topic

lorem ipsum, etc

I'm just not seeing how I'm supposed to set this up so that I can avoid the duplicates, given that I really want to stay linked to the original word document rather than just doing a one-time import and then manually editing the resulting html file.

I'm using v9 on Windows 7.

Thanks

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there

So let me get this straight. You have a Word document. You suck it into RoboHelp to create HTML. Then you create a completely different Word document using RoboHelp that is then used to create a PDF.

Why not simply create the PDF from the original Word document? Seems more straightforward to me.

Your present workflow (using an analogy) is like this: You are baking a cake. You take the flour and eggs and milk and blend them and bake the cake. Then you take that baked cake and break it up to try and get flour and eggs and milk back out of it and you dislike the fact there are all these crumbs to deal with!

Cheers... Rick

Helpful and Handy Links