10 Replies Latest reply: Dec 24, 2012 11:08 PM by Kar209 RSS

why doesn't my Layers Panel have any info?

Kar209 Community Member

Hello:                                                                                                         OS: Windows 7 64 bit

I am quite new to Illustrator and today I am working on a tutorial.

Thus far I have just one Layer. I went to Window > Layer so that the pallete would be open. However, there's no information in it. Only when I move it does the layer info show up.

Am I missing something? I've never had this problem before. All I did was create a New Layer > Drew Circle > added a Gradient and then went to look at the layers pallete but nothing.

Just wondering if I toggled something off by mistake. If so, I have no idea what to do to turn it back on.

Also, I have tried shutting down Illustrator, tried a New File and have shut down my pc but nothing seems to bring back the info in the layers palette

Thank you for your time and effort to help me

• 1. Re: why doesn't my Layers Panel have any info?
          Kar209 Community Member

Well,  I ended up calling Adobe for help. It was a long and difficult process. I started calling them at 6:05pm (eastern time) and dealt with 7 disconnections and every time I had to call them back. Why they ask for your phone number is beyond me.

Any way, at 9:00pm my time I was finally able to keep someone on the line. It only took about 3 minutes to fix after hours of phone tag (albiet one way tag).

So, my layers dialog is working again. I wish I could explain how it was fixed but I could hardly understand the person at the other end ... I was able to understand just enough words after hearing them over and over to assist the fix.