• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Converting jpeg to raw?

Community Beginner ,
Aug 14, 2012 Aug 14, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

So...  I am a bit of an amateur and have been shooting all of pictures in jpeg format.  I use Lightroom 4 and Photoshop Cs6 for editing them.  I am finally making the switch to raw format.  I would like all of my pictures to be in raw or dng to work better with lightroom, so here is my question.  Is it possible to convert jpeg fies to raw or dng?  Would it be a stupid idea to batch convert all of my jpegs into raw format?  Is it even possible?  I am kind of a new to this subject, so help me out.

Thanks in advance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Enthusiast , Aug 14, 2012 Aug 14, 2012

The jpg remains a jpg, but it resides in a DNG container.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You can't create raw format.  But in Bridge you can have the option to edit jpeg format pictures in camera raw.  If set up just right click on jpeg and choose "open in camera raw".  Option is in edit/camera raw preferences.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I found out you can convert jpeg to DNG.  Would it be smart or worth it to mass convert all of my pictures even if I don't get the same raw capabilities?  I would do it mainly for further non-destructive editing and to match the new raw files I will start using.  Is it worth it?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied