Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

"The webpage cannot be displayed" and chm problem in WebHelp Output

Sep 25, 2012 Sep 25, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello all, I'm Kelvin, I am new to RoboHelp, can anyone help to solve the problem I encountered when using RoboHelp 10? I am using the RoboHelp 10 Trial Version to open an old WinHelp projects. After I generate the WebHelp output, when I click some of the topics in the left menu, the browser shows "The webpage cannot be displayed".

For those inaccessible items, I'd found that the URLs are strange like "C:\{Project Location}/HTMLHelp/!SSL!/WebHelp/‟-.chm::/{FileName}.htm". where the link had inlcuded a chm related characters.

However, for the items I can access, the links show as normal as "C:/{Project Location}/HTMLHelp/!SSL!/WebHelp/{project_folder}/{FileName}.htm".

Sometimes, I'd also found that there are some strange characters in front of the chm like "酀疮ᆐ끙疪-.chm::/".

I am using Windows 7 32-bit OS with the trial version of RoboHelp downloaded from adobe.com. And I browsed the output with IE 9 and Firefox 14, and the problem exists in both.

One more supplement information: My colleague had used the trial version of RoboHelp 9 to open the same project source files and everything works fine.

Thanks in advance.

Kelvin

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Sep 26, 2012 Sep 26, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It looks like you have somehow set things up to link to a CHM. Try working with the sample projects first. Click Open on the RoboHelp Starter page and then click Samples in the ribbon on the left.

See www.grainge.org for RoboHelp and Authoring tips

@petergrainge