Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

HTML basics

New Here ,
Dec 13, 2006 Dec 13, 2006

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

For years I've been using Robohelp to build Winhelp help systems. However, it has become obvious through recent research that HTML Help would provide a better solution for our customers. The problem is, I have little to no experience in HTML. As such, I would greatly appreciate any information you can provide on the HTML format. Simply put, what are the HTML basics a beginner should know?

More specifically:

We are interested in building a help system that can link to content kept and maintained in house (not local to the user's machine). That way, we could continually update the content without having to release new versions of the software. Is this possible through Robohelp? How is this done?

How would one go about integrating a search app (like PhpDig) into a HTML help system?

This is a bit daunting to a Winhelp user, so I greatly appreciate any help you can provide. Thanks in advance.

Happy Holidays everyone.
Todd

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Engaged ,
Dec 13, 2006 Dec 13, 2006

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Todd,

You don't need to know much HTML to work with RoboHelp. I converted from WinHelp many years ago and it was easy using the same tool. With your content on a server, you would want to use WebHelp as compiled help must be on the user's machine. I would start with the sample project from RoboHelp and I think you'd be up and running in a day. You can also convert an existing WinHelp project to HTML Help directly inside RoboHelp.

I don't quite know how you would incorporate PhpDig because I don't do WebHelp myself. My thought would be that you would link to it as an external file.

John

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines