• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

how can a targa file be saved with a transparent background in cs6

New Here ,
Nov 09, 2012 Nov 09, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am trying to save a targa file with a transparent background. I've never worked with this file format before, so it is all new to me. Any help is appreciated.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

New Here , May 22, 2014 May 22, 2014

There is a much easier and quicker way round this issue if you have After Effects in you Adobe suite.

Save out of Photo shop as a psd as normal, open psd in After effects and save out as a Targa image sequence with alpha, hit the render button and you will get what you are looking for. However, you do need After Effects.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Guide ,
Nov 09, 2012 Nov 09, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I don't think there's a way. Sorry.

You could, of course, make a channel in Photoshop for the transparent layer, and save it as a second targa file. But you'd need to use the second file to mask the first in some other app (such as Photoshop) to get the transparency back again. Might as well just save a Photoshop file. 

DS

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Nov 10, 2012 Nov 10, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You can have an alpha channel for targa files in Photoshop. They wont show up in Preview though like GIF or PNG. They're an additioanl alpha channel that shows up in your texture.