• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How can I link from one flash document to another with buttons?

New Here ,
Nov 26, 2012 Nov 26, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

From the question above, you can tell that I'm very new to flash, especially with scripting. Total noob.

I watched my instructor's videos and I'm still stumped. He didn't explain it very well.

For starters, I am using Flash CS6, but I clicked on AS1.0 and AS2.0 from the drop down mention in the actionscript window for the script below, since that is what my instructor used.

What I have now are various pages I've already created in flash that are different pages in my website, including a splash page with an enter button.

For example, I want the enter button to link to another .swf or .html file when it is clicked. This file will be the main page.

I tried using this script that my instructor mentioned in the video on the button layer:

on (release); {

getURL("page1.swf");

}

the "page1.swf" file is already in the same folder in my computer as my splash page and I even imported it to the library of my splash page.

From my instructor's video demo, that should be apparently all that is needed.

But I cannot get this to work.

I tested the file and this is what flash comes up with:

In the output tab:

ReferenceError: Error #1065: Variable TCMText is not defined.

In the compiler errors tab:

Scene 1, Layer 'Layer 28', Frame 1, Line 11180: Call to a possibly undefined method on.

Scene 1, Layer 'Layer 28', Frame 1, Line 11120: Access of undefined property release.

Scene 1, Layer 'Layer 28', Frame 1, Line 21180: Call to a possibly undefined method getURL.

Any thoughts? My instructor also recommended that I embed the .swf into an .html, but he obviously didn't tell us how to do that!

Also, why doesn't script assist work with AS3?

Thank you so much!

TOPICS