• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Making a black solid transparent

Community Beginner ,
Dec 18, 2012 Dec 18, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to After Effects and I have been looking through the web for an answer– I've found only pessimistic responses that a black solid cannot be turned into a transparent solid or there are no solutions because Adobe failed to fix this issue.

I have an issue with the lens flare effect. I started a new black solid in my composition and added a basic lense flare to it then I changed the blending mode to SCREEN so that I can see the lens flare. I animated this flare to start large and shrink as it goes across the document. As it moves through the timeline, I can see the bounding box from the black solid itself!

I'm aware this doesn't happen with 3rd party plugins. I do not have any bought presets, plugins, neither from Video Copilot, Red Giant or any other 3rd party providers. All I have are the basic tools provided in After Effects CS6–

If a black solid cannot be transparent, is there ANY absolute way to overcome this issue? Tips, tricks?!

If you have an answer for me, PLEASE link me to some tutorial or explain it step by step. I am merely a beginner. Assume I know nothing!

Thanks.

Screen shot 2012-12-18 at 11.28.47 AM.png

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied