• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Why can't Lightroom 4 catalogues be on network volumes?

Dec 19, 2012 Dec 19, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've just installed a trial version of Lightroom 4.3 on my iMac running OS X 10.8.2. When I first start the application it says it wants to create a new catalog, and I accepted the default location, /home/rich/Pictures/Lightroom. Almost immediately, an error dialog box is displayed, containing the following message: "Lightroom cannot create a catalog named 'Lightroom 4 Catalog" on network volume '/home/rich/Pictures/Lightroom'." Underneath that, in smaller text, is the message, "Lightroom Catalogs can not be opened on network volumes, removable storage, or read only volumes.".

I'm a techie (I'm actually a UNIX programmer), so I understand what the message is saying. What I don't understand is WHY it doesn't work. Yes, my home directory is stored on a server, and no, it isn't exported read-only. As a programmer, I don't understand why Lightroom has such a ridiculous restriction: the program should neither know nor care what file system I'm using, or where (in a network sense) it resides. Provided it can access the location in the file system it wants to, it shouldn't care where the bits ultimately end up.

As far as I'm concerned this is a bug, and it needs fixing, pronto!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
People's Champ ,
Dec 19, 2012 Dec 19, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

This is an as-designed limitation and not a bug by definition:

Further reading for you: http://feedback.photoshop.com/photoshop_family/topics/multi_user_multi_computer

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines