Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Conflicting Information

Apr 03, 2013 Apr 03, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm a Information Security Analyst and currently I'm trying to strengthen our ColdFusion hardening standards and I have an issue that I need to understand.

I'm referencing two separate Adobe documents,

First document:

ColdFusion 9 Lockdown Guide

Recommends:

Page 16 of 35.  Do not enable RDS. Click next...

Next document:

Security Advisory for ColdFusion

Release date: January 4, 2013

Last updated: January 16, 2013

Vulnerability identifier: APSA13-01

Recommends:

• Setting the password for Remote Development Services (even if RDS is disabled)
  • Enabling password protection for RDS
  • Setting the Admin password and enabling password protection for Administrator

So, Adobe recommends, 1st, not to Enable RDS at all, but then recommends as a "mitigation", Enabling RDS (post installation) to setup a username and password, but the ColdFusion 9 Lockdown Guide "Do not enable RDS.". 

Maybe as a "Remediation", Adobe should just remove RDS since a) they recommend keeping it disabled and b) it's such a vulnerability?  Also, I would suggest that the recommendations from the Security Advisory (s) be incorporated into an updated ColdFusion 9 Lockdown Guide.

I'm sure this cannot be the first time they've heard this.

Don

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advocate ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It doesn't say to "Enable RDS", it says "Enable password protection for RDS"