• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How can I create a nested list with letters, numbers, and bullets?

New Here ,
Apr 16, 2013 Apr 16, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Can someone please help me with the issue I am having?  I want to created a nested list with letters, numbers and bullets.  I am new to FrameMaker, and I am editing a template I have to follow for work in unstructured FrameMaker.  I am on instruction step 43, so I need to keep those numbers going for the instruction steps.  The substep paragraph tags are already created.  I need to create a paragraph tag that includes the bulleted sub sub step.  I figured out how to create the new paragraph tag, and was able to make the bullet, however, I cannot get the cursor to start after a tab after the bullet.  It starts with no spacing after the bullet like the numbers do.  I have insterted a \t after the bullet in the paragraph designer. The bullet is starting at the correct indent spot (I made the first indent the correct number in the basic editor) please help!

See example below:

43.  Instruction steps are listed here. Instructions steps are listed here.  Instruction steps are listed here.  Instruction steps are listed here.  Instruction steps are listed here.  Instruction steps are listed here.

a. Substep

b. Substep

c. Substep

• Sub-sub step

• Sub-sub step

• Sub-sub step

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If you have a look at the supplied templates with FM, you can get examples of implementations for multiple numbering styles (File > New click on Explore Standard Templates and then scroll down to the Outlines, pick one and click Show Sample).