Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Formatting elements with pgfFmt

New Here ,
Apr 18, 2013 Apr 18, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

I'm a complete beginner at FrameMaker and scripting of the same, and I've been tasked with converting S1000D documents in XML format into FrameMaker files using an unstructured template.

I've managed to import some XML files into FrameMaker and saved them as .fm files. Now I need to set different paragraph formats on different elements in those files. The paragraph formats are taken from an unstructured document and imported into the files. How can I assign them to the different elements?

I'm currently walking through the elements in the document from mainFlow.HighestLevelElement using the FirstChildElement and NextSiblingElement methods and checking the ElementDef.Name for the tag name, which works, but I've so far been unable  to find a way to set a format on the Element. Is it possible? Is there a better way? Any suggestions welcome.

Best,

Lisbeth

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Advocate , Apr 18, 2013 Apr 18, 2013

Hello Lisbeth,

You will need the Structure Application Development Guide. Part 3 of that document explains all the EDD rules. The guide can be downloaded from the Adobe site. It does not matter which version of FrameMaker - I am using the guide for version 8 and do not even know if there is a newer one.

The structure applications can be found via StructureTools > Edit Application Definitions. That opens the structapp file in FM. Look for the S1000D application and check the name of the template th

Votes

Translate

Translate
Advocate ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello Lisbeth,