• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Recording audio and video

New Here ,
Aug 24, 2006 Aug 24, 2006

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi - I'm new to Captivate and am currently evaluating it for purchase. I have two questions that I hope someone can help me with.

1) Is there a way for Captivate to record the audio that is playing on the local workstation. For example, if I have a CD playing and want to capture a sample of it while recording the video. Neither the microphone or inline options picked it up.
2) Using captivate, I recorded a 30 second section of a video off a website and included it on a slide. That one slide .SWF-- when published -- was 16 meg. Is this typical?

I would appreciate your help with these.

Thanks
Mike
TOPICS
Recording

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advocate ,
Aug 24, 2006 Aug 24, 2006

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Mike. Welcome to the Captivate User Community!

1) There is no way that I know to intercept the audio portion of antoher app or activity - EXCEPT - to plug in your mic and lay it in front of your machine's speaker system. The ambient noise may ruin it for you - or for that matter, it might not even be captured by Captivate. If the latter is true, open Windows Sound Recorder (or a 3rd party audio app) and do the recording from there, then import the result to Captivate.

2) Not sure what you actually did here. When you said you "included it on a slide" do you mean you recorded it using Captivate's FMR (full-motion recording) function, or do you mean you recorded it with a 3rd party video recorder, then imported it to Captivate as a SWF or AVI???? A little explanation if you please . . .