• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How can I afford to use Photoshop when it costs $600/year?

Explorer ,
May 07, 2013 May 07, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am a hobby photographer.  I have used Photoshop 4, 5, and 6.  Using Photoshop has generally cost me about $100/year or $200/2 years.

I, as is true of many hobby photographers, have enjoyed using PS to edit my images. I use only PS from the Creative Suite.  I use functions  that only PS provides, such as, layer masks.   It seems I must stick with Photoshop 13 (CS5) and hope that there will be addons to keep it current.  Any other suggestions?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

vince heying wrote:

It seems I must stick with Photoshop 13 (CS5) and hope that there will be addons to keep it current.  Any other suggestions?

PS13 is CS6, but your hope will not be realized as there will be no updates to it.  Gimp?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I made two mistakes in my 'question'.

I know Photoshop 13 is CS6. A typo.

Also, what I meant by addons is not Adobe updates; but rather what I meant is addons from sources outside Adobe. There are addons to Elements to provide functions that Adobe does not provide. There may be a whole industry outside Adobe to keep Photoshop 13 up to date.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines

Copy link to clipboard

Copied