• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Version not compatible

Oct 28, 2013 Oct 28, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

Bit of a computer novice here, I have been having problems with youtube recently and think it is down to flash player.  After playing around for a bit I have uninstalled it alltogether with the view to install the latest version.

When I try to install from

http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/otherversions/

or

http://www.afterdawn.com/software/general/download_splash.cfm/adobe_flash_player_firefox_mozilla_ope...

I am ok with downloading but get the message

"The version of this file is not compatible with the version of windows you're running.  Check your computer's system information to see whether you need an x86 (32-bit) or x64 (64-bit) version of the program, and then contact the software publisher".

then can't go any further.

FYI - I have a 64-bit windows 7.  I am using mainly Opera (the latest version), but also use Firefox and Chrome ocassionally.  I'm not sure how uptodate the versions of them are.

I'm really not sure how to get around this problem other than trying to download earlier versions, but expect I will need the latest at somepoint.

Can anyone advise what needs to be don't.

Thanks very much for help.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Oct 28, 2013 Oct 28, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Chrome has its own Flash Player Plugin ("PepperFlash"). It updates by updating the browser.

This may seem like a bunch of steps, but it really goes pretty quickly:

Download the following files by right clicking and selecting "Save target as"

Flash Player Uninstaller

Flash Player for ActiveX (Internet Explorer)

Flash Player Plug-in (All other browsers)

Save ALL files to your Downloads folder - DO NOT RUN anything yet.