• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Coldfusion only displays variable names, not variables.

New Here ,
Nov 17, 2013 Nov 17, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi! I'm just getting started with ColdFusion and I'm having difficulties already. I have the following:

<cfset firstname="bob">

<p style="font-color:#ccccc">Hello <cfoutput>#firstname#</cfoutput> it is so nice to see you</p>

But instead of saying "Hello Bob it is so nice to see you"

it says

"Hello #firstname# it is so nice to see you."

I'm using xammp for apache and using dreamweaver. Can anyone help me figure out why this isn't working correctly?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Enthusiast ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

First, be careful with using the hash tag in a CFML page.  Your inline style on the <p> element not only has an incorrect number of hexadecimal characters (you can have 3 or 6 characters, not 5), you also got to be careful when you specify the hash itself.  Also, there is no such CSS property as "font-color".  I believe you want to use "color", ie:

<p style="color: ##ccc;">Hello <cfoutput>#firstname#</cfoutput>.  It is so nice to see you.</p>

Try that and let me know what you get.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Nope, didn't change anything. I'm still having it say "Hello #firstname#" instead of "Hello Bob"

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Enthusiast ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied