• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

My snaps won't snap/center even though they're turned on

New Here ,
Dec 04, 2013 Dec 04, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm a bit of a novice with InDesign and your help would be much appreciated!

I went to View > Guides & Grids > and selected Snap to Grids and Snap to Document Grids but my text boxes/images/etc. won't snap and give that center line that helps align the object to others.

How do I turn these on?

Also, I have a Mac OSX Lion if that helps.

Much appreciated!

-Helen

TOPICS
Performance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Dec 04, 2013 Dec 04, 2013

On second reading of this, it sounds like you want Smart Guides on; not snap to grid. Smart Guides gives all that visual feedback that you are asking for.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

In the Guides and Pasteboaed section of the InDesign preferences make sure that all the boxes under Smart Guides are checked. Then also make sure Samrt Guides is checked under View > Guides and Grids.

A word of warning about snapping to the document grid... you may find it interferes with easy snapping to objects.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Snap to Grid interferes with Smart Guides. Have either on; but not both.

Mike Witherell

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied