• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

RH Project Structure - Source File (*HTM) - advise pls

New Here ,
May 03, 2007 May 03, 2007

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi All, (running RH X5.0.2 on Windows XP SP2)

I transferred & inherited an 'unstructured RH HELP s/ware documentation system (*.chm output) and I'm trying to determine upfront the best way to organize, share and manage the projects for chm help, documentation & translation/localization.

I'm a Newbie to RH X5 but not tech. authoring etc, but gaining experience fast, such as editing/updating existing (legacy) projects - building them out as .chm projects - though I intend to advance to shared outputs i.e. printed docs etc in good time. But How?

My output (.chm's)62 chms and 54 in the other with approx. 2800 - 3500 topics - has various requirements, but the main being its shared between 2 major branded products i.e. 'Product 1' and 'Product 2' - Product 1 being the flagship and the forerunner.. this causes soo much hassle as the S/ware products are sold or INSTALLED in so many differing variations/permations.. so you have to be very aware of what’s what and goes with what variation of install - time will improve this..!!

I've found Conditional Build tags useful at this stage to define each products content - for inclusion/exclusion!

Where as the predecessor preferred to do it the long/hard way and recopy the Topic(*.htm) file and segregate it in another folder (unfortunately, usually leaving the same filename and then edit the Product 1 data for Product 2's requirements.. (Conditional text has helped this..). ever heard of SIngle Source authoring ..?

However, there are a magnitude of repeated, duplicated topics through out the total help system, becos of the above and I wish to bring law & order to this non share friendly file structure - ex BroadVision user speaking - and have the following question..