• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can I use conditional and advanced actions on the same button?

New Here ,
Feb 14, 2014 Feb 14, 2014

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm fairly new to Captivate, but come from a background of flash and am struggling to use Captivate to do some things I would have expected to be fairly simple and a normal requirement.

I want to create a screen with a number of interactive objects, in this case pictures, that the learner clicks on to display a piece of text.

On clicking the next picture the first piece of text is hidden and a second piece shown.

There are 6 pictures/buttons that need to work this way.

However I also want to assess whether all the buttons have been used, as we have to force the user to view the entire slide before they continue.

I can do the hide/show of text and buttons, and I've written a conditional action to check the variables for each button. However I don't know how/when to call this action.

I was hoping that in my advanced action for each button I could add in a call to the conditional 'check variables' action, which would nicely fulfil this requirement, however this doesn't seem to be the case.

I have also got animation/effects on the timeline before the images are on screen meaning I don't want to go back to the start of the timeline to use a 'on enter' event.

I'm surprised this isn't something more people need as although it may be frowned upon out in the e-learning field, disabled navigation is frankly not going away and working for any large corporation will be a must.

If anyone can shed some light on this, or maybe suggest a better approach then I would appreciate it.

Thanks.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more