12 Replies Latest reply on May 25, 2007 1:21 PM by kglad

extending Sprite?

hciguy Level 1
      Just a quick, basic question. Every example I see of classes in this OReilly book I have been looking over extends Sprite. Why would they all extend Sprite? I don't see the reaosn or value. They are not overriding any methods of it...

Thanks in advance.
        • 1. Re: extending Sprite?
          Rothrock Level 5
          Why not extend sprite. My understanding is that the point of extending is inheritance, not so much with the overriding.

Are you putting these things on the stage? Moving them around? Clicking on them and such? If so, then Sprite gets most of the useful things like that from its parent classes. But they don't seem as natural of a thing to extend.

I'm new to all of this, but it seems that Sprite really is the replacement for what used to be dynamically created MovieClips. If you don't have a timeline you don't need the MovieClip overhead and Sprite is the next choice up the chain.
          • 2. Re: extending Sprite?
            hciguy Level 1
            The example was just a basic class reading and parsing XML....
            • 3. Re: extending Sprite?
              kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP
              look at your class and check what functionality it needs. then check the most basic class that has most of that functionality and extend that to add the additional features you want in your custom class.

for example, the author of your xml read/parse class may have wanted to use the interactiveobject class to respond to user input and wanted something in the displayobject class to add to the display list so it would appear on-screen. the sprite class is the most basic class that extends both those classes and would be a reasonable starting point for your class.