• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Export to Excel (as a REAL excel file)

Advocate ,
Feb 08, 2007 Feb 08, 2007

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've been exporting data to excel for ages now, so I know the drill - build the data as an HTML table or MSOFFICE XML,set the <cfcontent type="application/vnd.ms-excel"> and then output the result. At the moment, I am trying to generate an excel file to import into another application (Microsoft MapPoint, to be exact).

The problem seems to be that MapPoint won't recognize the generated file as being an excel file. My guess is its because the file is not an excel file, per se, but a format that excel recognizes and can convert into a spreadsheet. If I load the CF-generated file into excel and then save as a new file, then the new file imports just fine into MapPoint. So my question is this:

Does anyone know of a way to export data from ColdFusion as a real XLS file? I have some experience working with Jakarta POI, so I'm thinking that's where this fun little journey is going to wind up. But I thought I'd send it out there and see if anyone in the community has any better suggestions.

thanks a lot, all!
TOPICS
Advanced techniques

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Participant ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Try http://cfregex.com/cfcomet/Excel/index.cfm?ArticleID=B5ED33FB-5CB1-4ACC-899689A15A0E1539 it looks like it is a archive of the old cfcomet site. I use to visit cfcomet all the time to learn new tricks.

Trevor

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advocate ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Ben wrote a nice CFC wrapper around POI.