• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

html5 animation: Flash CC vs. Edge Animate?

New Here ,
Apr 23, 2014 Apr 23, 2014

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've been using Flash for many years, and am now creating html5 animations. Just curious, why would I want to use Edge animate to create html5 animation, when I could just make an animation in Flash CC, and then export as html5 canvas? Do both Flash and Edge basically render the same thing (in terms of html/css/js), or are there differences? Thanks!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Apr 24, 2014 Apr 24, 2014

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The edge product focuses exclusively on HTML5 whereas Flash Pro is a mixture of both. If you only need HTML5 animation then you can simply use Edge products. If you ever need to create Flash SWF content then it's nice to have both packed into the larger Flash Pro product.

The two products do differ and I imagine they will continue to do so even more in the future, with edge focusing tightly on JavaScript.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
May 09, 2014 May 09, 2014

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks for the answer! I've worked with both recently, and have been comparing...

The main differences I'm noticing between Flash CC and Edge Animate:

• Flash doesn't export as responsive html, Edge does.
  • Flash doesn't accept SVG input, Edge does.