10 Replies Latest reply on Sep 4, 2014 8:12 AM by BobLevine

Adobe InDesign CS6

Nila Level 1

I am new to publishing platform. I am planning to start a publishing business very soon. I would like to concentrate on both print and e-book creation. Where should I start? Is buying InDesign CS6 a good start? Will I have to learn too many new stuff ? Does the learning include programming and codes other than the interface of the software?  Thanks in advance!

• 1. Re: Adobe InDesign CS6
          BobLevine MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Buying CS6 would be a great big mistake, IMO. You'd have to lay out a lot of

cash for something that might not work out and you'd be two versions out of

date.

You'd be far better off with Creative Cloud butŠand this a huge butŠsimply

having this software on your computer is not going to turn you into a

publishing professional. There's a tremendous amount to learn.

• 2. Re: Adobe InDesign CS6
            Nila Level 1

Thank you, Bob!

I understand it involves tremendous amount of learning. I am willing to invest time, effort and money in it. I do have a software background and I believe it should make the learning a little easier. However, I am confused - Where to start? Which product to choose? Taking your suggestion, I looked into the plans available in CC. I see that there is a special offer going on for $29.99/month with a requirement to have purchased CS3 or later. I find no information on Adobe about previous version and prices of software anywhere.

• 3. Re: Adobe InDesign CS6

The only previous version you can buy is CS6. If you don’t have CS3 or later you’ll have to pay full price for Creative Cloud.

• 4. Re: Adobe InDesign CS6
                Nila Level 1

Thank you!

• 5. Re: Adobe InDesign CS6
                  Doc Maik Level 4