• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Mini DV tapes - first time transfer to harddrive suggestions needed

Contributor ,
Jan 21, 2015 Jan 21, 2015

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

This may not be the perfect forum for this, but there are probably Premiere users who've dealt with this before...

I'm a complete video amateur/some time Premiere user with a dozen Mini DV tapes in a box that haven't been viewed in years. (I sold the camcorder long ago) I just found out that Mini DV is now obsolete and that I'd better move fast if I want to salvage this footage before Mini DV equipment is no longer available.  I want to do a one-time transfer of all the footage to an external terabyte drive, but don't know what's the most economical way to go about this.

I looked through this Ebay page http://tinyurl.com/nu43k3j where I can spend many hundreds on recorders, players, camcorders. I don't know what questions to ask - like can I use Firewire or USB, or is that extra slow? Should I get a cheapo used camcorder for just these 12 tapes and hope the motor holds out, or do I need a player/deck? Also, I don't know what format the content of Mini DV tape will be when transferred. Once I get a device, are there different formats or codecs that I have to consider before I start transferring or does Mini DV footage always come over as .mov or something? I just want the raw footage, something Premiere can edit. The post-transfer format I want is something I'd need to know before purchasing something I'm guessing...

Any suggestions? Something to sell? thanks in advance!

Mac OS 10.6.8 | 2x2.26 GHz QuadCore Intel Xeon | Premiere CS6

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jan 23, 2015 Jan 23, 2015

TheOriginal150mph wrote: