• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Filtration of records on Coldfusion end.

New Here ,
Oct 11, 2007 Oct 11, 2007

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi All,

I am a newbie to Coldfusion. My experience is predominantly in Oracle. I am caught up in an issue and would like to discuss the same in this forum.

Technical Specifications : Database - Oracle 8i, Front End - ColdfusionMX 6.1

Requirement : I have five drop down's in a page. They are District, Property, Floor, Room Types and Room. The desire is to have them dynamically populated. By default based on user's login credentials the drop down would be populated with default values. When the user decides to change the district, the property drop down should contain properties corresponding to the chosen district, similarily, Floor depends on Property, Room Types depend on Floor and Room depend on Room Types.

Technical Approach : As of now, i have developed a stored procedure that returns all the various combinations for the five drop downs. There are about 80,000 rows for these combinations. The backend is in Oracle and the query joining the tables takes about 3 seconds in the backend. The entire result set is sent across to the front end. The front end loads all the drop downs with the relevant details and does some amount of filtration based on user selection. The page load takes 93 seconds !!

Alternative approaches : Have tried, cfquery. But the limiation with this, was we had to use a form within a form and hence, that was not possible. Either the form is not recognised or , when we try to submit the form, the page itself is submitted and the error thrown, is that not all the values are available. We have tried arrays on the coldfusion side, but not much has improved.I have even tried optimising the database query, which takes insignificant time at the backend itself.